Ricoh Says: Part 3, Roll and Rock!

Candles filled the dim room. There was only one cake but candles were lit on tables, floors and in the hands of others. Everyone circled their eyes wall to wall, toes to head looking at each other with excitement and anticipation. Ladies in dresses and skirts, men in fancy pants, dress shirts and a few hipsters thrown into the mix.

Rico was in overalls and a straw cowboy hat. He thought the party was a hoedown theme.

TEN!

NINE!

EIGHT!

SEVEN!

SIX!

FIVE!

FOUR!

THREE!

TWO!

ONE!

Happy New Year screams the room!

I look like a douchebag yells Rico!

Rico hugs friends standing next to him, 2017 is our year!, he shouts!

We’re gonna do it! Yells Bean. A cute girl who Rico knows. She gets a foot close to Rico’s face saying with enthusiasm, I love the sunshine , I really do but the moment, the present moment is where the magic happens. This is my year dude! I’m gonna do it, I’m gonna be braver and achieve my dreams. Oh my dreams, how I love my dreams! If I fall down, who cares. It’s just making me stronger. I’ll reach my dreams! Whooo! Rico never let opportunity slip past you. Seek all you can!

Someone cut her off yells Rico to the party with a smile. I’m seeking an adventure in the city tonight. He shouts to his friend, Hank grab your guitar! let’s do a Roll and Rock!

Hank screams, Love it, while grabbing his guitar, let’s go outside!

Ten minutes pass and the party of twenty move onto the streets after rushing down the stairwell like a crowded pack of residents escaping a fire. On the sidewalk, Hank starts walking with guitar in hand playing and singing “Times like These” by Foo Fighters.

“I, I’m a one way motorway

I’m the one that drives away

Then follows you back home”

The party begins singing along with Hank….

“I, I’m a street light shining

I’m a wild light blinding bright

Burning off alone”

The singing gets enthusiastic when Hank and the party get to the course.

“It’s times like these you learn to live again

It’s times like these you give and give again

It’s times like these you learn to love again

It’s times like these time and time again”

Rico sets his arm around a couple walking the opposite direction. The couple smiles. Rico says it’s a beautiful night for singing, why don’t you join us?

We’re not much for singing but thanks.

No problem, you should dance though!

The couple look each other in the eyes and tilt their heads in agreement before dancing hand in hand.

Hank stars playing Blackbird by The Beatles and Rico smiles at Bean in the midst of the group of people, “How’s this for living in the moment!?”

Bean walks to Rico and takes his hands. Hank and the group start singing the opening verse.

“Blackbird singing in the dead of night

Take these broken wings and learn to fly

All your life

You were only waiting for this moment to arise.”

Rico talks loud over the singing to Bean with people surrounding them. This is amazing!Sometimes I wonder why we ever get stressed. I heard a famous artist say his spirit is living in it’s current vessel until he moves onto the next. Kind of crazy right? But when you think about it, it’s freeing. I love that feeling of being outside the body. Like I’m something more. Like I’m meant to do great things or can achieve anything. You know what I mean?!

I think someone should cut you off, Bean says with a cute smirk.

Well played, responds Rico.

All we can do is try our best and live every day to the fullest says Bean.  Tomorrow I want to bring you to my happy place Rico!

Leave a Reply

